The Magnificent Seven: National Safety Council Honors Oklahoma Employers with Traffic Safety Awards

Oklahoma Employer Traffic Safety Awards 2019
These employers go the extra mile to reduce the nearly 200 crashes a day occurring on Oklahoma roads.

The National Safety Council recognized seven Oklahoma organizations for their commitment to keeping employees safe on the roads during the presentation of the inaugural Our Driving Concern Oklahoma Employer Traffic Safety Awards.

Awards were presented in partnership with the Oklahoma Highway Safety Office and the Oklahoma Safety Council at the Oklahoma Safety & Health Conference in Oklahoma City. Two recipients went above and beyond to earn Exemplary distinction for making traffic safety a priority for employees both at work and at home. The efforts of five other Oklahoma employers are highlighted in Award and Honorable Mention categories.


  • Dolese Bros. Co.
  • Tulsa County Library


  • EnLink Midstream
  • Oklahoma State University Parking & Transportation
  • U.S. Infrastructure Company (USIC)

Honorable Mention

  • Accurate Safety Compliance
  • City of Stillwater

The seven recipients emerged from a diverse pool of applicants. Employee education, training and other traffic safety initiatives were considered in the evaluation process.

Nearly 200 crashes occur every day on Oklahoma roads, according to data from the Oklahoma Highway Safety Office. More than 650 people are killed and 33,000 are injured on state roads each year. All of these crashes are preventable.

“The loss of a spouse, a child, a friend or a co-worker is heartbreaking,” said Lisa Robinson, NSC senior program manager and head of Our Driving Concern. “Employers play a critical role in working to keep everyone safe. Safety principles learned on the job often are carried home. We are proud to call out these Oklahoma organizations for leading in a culture shift not unlike the movement that led to a ban on smoking in public places.”

Role models: Check out our best-practice brochure that highlights the traffic safety efforts of each award recipient.